Scost1's Blog

Career Services had an Event? Where?

Posted on: April 12, 2010

There are many events that Career Services hold every semester. It seems as if their goal is to have some sort of event for students every week or so. I usually try to at least attend the Career Fair every year it is held.  The career fair that I attended was held on Wednesday January 27,2010 at 11:00a.m.-3:00p.m.  This event is held during the spring semester of each year.  This is a great opportunity for students , if they are looking for co-op, internship  and summer job opportunities.  I usually dont find anything that vastly pertains to Communication and its entities; but I attend anyway because there might be a great oportunity waiting. 

This year I did notice that their were more jobs present that dealt with Communication and Public Relations (PR).  I went to these tables and talked with the representatives from the companies and presented my resume where needed. This is also a time to remember to wear appropriate interview clothing ; in which is mentioned in detail in one of my previous posts. Clothing is very important at this event because future employers look at how you were dressed at this event and make opinions about you. I saw that some employers took the time to actually briefly interview students on the spot; clothing possibly helped them at that time.

Even though the economy is not good for a tremendous amount of people, I appreciate Career Services in taking their time to put on such a beneficial event. This event showed me what i needed to do to prepare for future interviews and to just be ready for the job market in total.  I am now preparing to revise my resume and also doing experience worthy things to build my resume.  Even though this event was a great event, I would like to see more jobs present from the Communication/ Public Relations area in the future.

I also noticed that the career fair gave students an opportunity to help with the fair. There were many students chosen to volunteer for the event this semester. I had the opportunity to volunteer with the event last spring semester. This is a great oportunity for those students who want to meet employers but may not have their resumes built yet. These students may have others reasons that are hendering them from actually attending the event and may have a greater chance next year.  Getting involved is always a favorite thing of mine . I love to volunteer and looked at last year’s experience as a time to help other students who are there for the fair, meet employers, and gather volunteer hours ( which looks great on resumes as well) .

This is a great event and I hope that all that attended recieved the full effect of the event.  I am a graduating student in May and I will miss all of the  many opportunities that Georgia Southern University gives us as students to prepare us for the “real world”.  Check out the Career Services website for more events to come !   Also, check out these videos with Career Fair tips : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldvOX7I5jCE, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkxfxJ9WqJY , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9HrejkMw8WA

 Picture taken from : http://students.georgiasouthern.edu/career/index2.php?url=students|index.php&menu=students.

1 Response to "Career Services had an Event? Where?"

Career Services really offers many workshops and events for GSU. I’d never realized before this semester how many things actually take place on campus because of their department. They encourage students to participate and attend the events but unfortunately not many people are notified of the events. This semester alone they hosted workshops for interviewing, internships, networking, resume critiques and etc. We are fortunate to have a department on campus that is so eager to help students find success with future employers.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • stephaniemedlin: Hello Sheila! I am also interested in the event planning aspect of Public Relations. I am glad you were able to interview someone who shares your int
  • stephaniemedlin: Career Services really offers many workshops and events for GSU. I'd never realized before this semester how many things actually take place on campu
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.
